First snow troubles

11 11 2009

Today we had our first real snow. Last week we had some, but it didn’t even stick to the streets.

It started to snow last night before I went to choir practice. It continued though the night and today, when I left for school it was a few inches deep (probably about ankle deep). My first thought “oh no, I haven’t actually purchased snow boots yet.” So I left in my tennis shoes. My shoes were quite wet by the time I arrived at school, but my feet hadn’t actually gotten wet.

I throughout the day I watched it continue to snow. I spent a large amount of my day with my back turned to my desk and my eyes on the window watching the snow fall. It was so beautiful.

When it was time to go home, I arrived back at my shoe locker to find that my shoes had not dried. They were still wet. Since they were still my best choice for snow I put them on and set out for home. By the time I was half way home my feet were cold. They weren’t too wet, but they were cold.

After the half hour-ish walk home in the dark, my feet were still warm, thanks to 3 layers on my feet, one of them being wool socks. But they were wet (ick!). Can I make it through to the weekend (when I can shop with my JTE) with my tennis shoes? Would my rain boots (which don’t fit tight) be a better option?

Actions

Information

6 responses

18 01 2010
sj

hey there sparky!

I’m curious, did you ever end up trying out the rain boots in the snow? How did it go? I’m heading to japan soon and I’m trying to work out what shoes to bring… what would you recommend? (bearing in mind that I can’t afford ski boots)

x

19 01 2010
beckywithasmile

I did try the rain boots in the snow – my feet did not stay warm.

Where are you going in Japan? Many places don’t have much snow, but I live in Hokkaido, so we get tons of snow.

With one of my teachers, we went and got boots similar to the Uggs (sp?) ones. Those, with some waterproof spray seem to keep my feet warm and dry.

Oh and, I wouldn’t recommend ski boots anyways (unless you’re using them to ski), they’re meant for skiing and not for just everyday wear.

19 01 2010
sj

hey again!

My friend and I are traveling to a few places, but Sapporo is one of them, so yes, we will need to address the problem of cold feet.. (and cold everything!)

so Uggs with waterproofing spray is a good idea? I was thinking about Uggs but I was worried about them getting too wet, but if you’re recommending them then they’re at the top of the list… (they would definitely be warmer than rain boots)

Is that the sort of thing the locals wear? I was hoping to go for something similar to what’s popular so I don’t look weird…

I’m from Australia so I’ve never experienced living with snow, I have no idea what to expect!

Thanks heaps!!!

19 01 2010
beckywithasmile

Yeah, Sapporo isn’t near as cold as where I’m at, but you will still want winter gear.

Uggs style boots seem to work for me. I see all kinds of people wearing them.

You’re a gaijin (foreigner) so you are going to stand out. It’s inevitable. Unless your family background is Japanese, the fact that you don’t look like a Japanese person and don’t speak like one is going to make you stand out like a sore thumb. Don’t worry too much about it though, there are tons of gaijin in Sapporo so no matter how crazy you are, people won’t be gawking at you like they do in some of the more remote places.

Let me know if you have more questions!

20 01 2010
sj

hey!!

so yes, I do have more questions! I’ve been doing some research, and I keep finding people saying that Ugg boots are fine for snow, and also people saying that they are terrible and even with waterproofer the water leaks through..

So I was wondering, do you have a special kind of Uggs that are better for snow or are they the stock standard type?
Were they expensive? In Australia normal Uggs cost about $150, (so about 12,600 Yen) do you think I’m better off buying them in Japan?

I’ve been told that it’s the thick slushy snow that’s the worst, so I was wondering, is the snow in the city really slushy or is it mostly cleared away for people to walk on?

Sorry for all the questions, but thank you heaps, you’ve been such a great help!

:)

28 01 2010
beckywithasmile

Hello again!

My ugg-type boots aren’t special (unless they sell special ones that I’m unaware of). I got knock off ones. Mine are slightly different as they are raised off the ground by a centimeter or two with the sole. Mine were cheap (like 4000 yen ~ $40). They seemed to be doing really great. And then we had slush . . . and they leaked with it and have been a bit since (I’m planning to just re-waterproof them). If you’ll be in slush, I don’t know if they would be best. I see a lot of people walking around in leather tennis shoes and boots. Maybe something like that would be better for you? I have a lot of friends around here that are using the ugg type boots though and haven’t had any problem.

I’d say if you can’t get knock offs there, then shop here. I’ve seen them in some shops for around $20 (if you get the really cheap ones – I would have, but that’s not where we ended up shopping) – it’s also part way through the season now.

I’m not sure what the snow is like in Sapporo. I don’t live there. I live in a tiny town in the middle of nowhere. I think that will mainly depend upon temperature though. Our temperatures got above freezing by a bit the last couple of days and that’s when we got slush. It is the worst, it leaks through faster and it’s a whole lot harder to walk on.

Again, let me know if you have more questions.

Hope these answers help.

Leave a Reply

